About the Niwot Historical Society
Our next "Niwot, Now & Then" lecture on February 25, 2015, is Derek Fortini, "Archeological Evidence of Early Habitation in the Rocky Mountains".
We invite you to join us for this interesting lecture!
Derek is Museum Director and Curator of Exhibits at the Estes Park Museum. Derek’s presentation will explore the evidence left behind by Native Americans who used to inhabit the area now known as Estes Park. The Museum has many artifacts that have been found in the Estes Park area to recreate the possible events. Ranging from tools to structures, evidence also includes alterations to the landscape. When looked at as a whole, one can get a better picture that the people who inhabited this area had well established cultures.
Ute Wickiup, photographed in Estes Park circa 1905.
The Niwot Historical Society was formed in 1983 when Don Reeb, then Niwot Community School coordinator, arranged a meeting for those interested in forming a local historical group. Although the initial response was small, those in attendance formed the core group that became the Niwot Historical Society.
In 1990, the Historical Society undertook its first major project, purchasing a grave marker for early Niwot builder and businessman John Nelson. Nelson, responsible for the construction of two of the earliest buildings on Second Avenue circa 1910, was buried in Ryssby Cemetery, but his grave had never been properly marked. The buildings established by Nelson still stand as part of the Niwot Historic District, and currently house the Left Hand Valley Grange and Wise Buys Antiques.
Niwot Historical Society Collection
In 1999, the Historical Society was given the tiny building that once housed the town’s chemical fire cart. Volunteers moved it to its present site next to the Grange Hall, where it now serves as the Firehouse Museum. Outside the Museum, the Society planted a peaceful patio garden for visitors to enjoy. The garden houses a display case with changing exhibits of local historic interest and membership brochures. The Firehouse Museum is open to the public only when Niwot celebrates the Fourth of July and other special occasions.
Since its incorporation in 2003, the Niwot Historical Society operates under a Board of Directors which oversees its projects and finances. It cooperates with other community organizations – the Niwot Business Association, Left Hand Grange, and the Niwot Community Association – to promote Old Town Niwot as Boulder County's first historic district.
Ongoing Historical Society projects today include conducting walking tours of the Niwot historic district, publishing and distributing a newsletter, collecting local historic photographs and artifacts, hosting our "Niwot, Now & Then" lecture series and holding an Annual Meeting. We participate in all seasonal local celebrations and present special exhibits and programs, based on our artifact and photograph collections.
We invite you to join us and become involved in our many projects!
1947 Aerial View of Niwot
The Niwot Historical Society’s mission is to preserve, collect, and protect the history of Niwot, the surrounding area, and Chief Niwot through the preservation of artifacts, documents, and photographs relating to their history. The Society encourages the conservation of these resources through publications, programs, and other related activities, and brings people together who are interested in the history of Niwot.
Niwot Historical Society is an all-volunteer, non-profit organization qualified under Section 501(c) 3 of the Internal Revenue Code. All donations are tax deductible.
Board of Directors
|President||Vice President||Treasurer||Secretary||Membership Chair|
|Meri Gibb||Darwyn Herbst||Mary Claire Collins||Katherine Koehler|
- Anne Dyni
- Donlyn Arbuthnot
- Rob Gordon
- Joe Betts
Please contact us at email@example.com, or write to us at:Niwot Historical Society
P.O. Box 354
Niwot, Colorado 80544